Friday, April 4, 2008

ALBUM REVIEW: Carlos Santana and Mahavishnu John McLaughlin - Love, Devotion, Surrender

By Clyde Lee Dennis

The talented Carlos Santana CD entitled Love Devotion Surrender is an exceptional album. Here Carlos Santana’s artistic excellence is on full display as Santana has once again delivered a brilliant collection of tracks that could very well be his best work to date.

Carlos Santana has been a heavy hitter in the Rock genre for quite some time now and Love Devotion Surrender is an excellent illustration as to why. One of the nicer things about a CD like this is when the talent is this rich even if Rock isn’t your favorite genre you still can’t help but appreciate the greatness of the artist. Listen and I think you’ll agree that the song choices are excellent, the production is outstanding and Carlos Santana is clearly in top form.

While the entire CD is really very good some of my favorites are track 3 - The Life Divine, track 4 - Let Us Go Into The House Of The Lord, and track 7 - Naima. My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [... as in "Stuck On REpeat"] is track 1 - A Love Supreme. What a nice track!

CD Track List Follows:
1. A Love Supreme
2. Naima
3. Life Divine, The
4. Let Us Go Into The House Of The Lord
5. Meditation
6. Love Supreme, A - (take 2)
7. Naima - (take 4)

Personnel: Carlos Santana (guitar); Mahavishnu John McLaughlin (guitar, piano); Larry Young (organ); Doug Rauch (bass); Billy Cobham, Don Alias, Jan Hammer, Mike Shrieve (drums); Armando Peraza (congas).
Recorded in 1972. Originally released on Columbia (32034). Includes liner notes by Hal Miller.

No comments:

Post a Comment