Monday, September 15, 2008

ALBUM REVIEW: Santana - Supernatural

Santana Supernatural Rock Music CD Review by Clyde Lee Dennis

Supernatural is an album from Rock Superstar Santana, and is another great one by this talented musician. Supernatural grabs your attention right from the very first note with Yaleo and won’t let go until the very last note of the very last song The Calling, which is another great track by the way.

Rock music fans will recognize some of the well known contributors on the project including Dave Matthews and Eric Clapton plus a few other notables as well.

I’m of the opinion that Supernatural is certainly Santana’s best work in a few years. A totally enjoyable CD and an outstanding release. What I call must have music. I give it two thumbs up because it’s a collection that even the casual Rock fan can appreciate and enjoy.

While the entire CD is really very good some of my favorites are track 2 - Love Of My Life, track 6 - Do You Like The Way, and track 10 - Wishing It Was.

My Bonus Pick, and the one that got Sore [ in "Stuck On REpeat"] is has to be track 5 - Smooth. What a nice track!

Supernatural Release Notes:

Santana originally released Supernatural on June 15, 1999 on the Arista Records label.

CD Track List Follows:

  1. Yaleo, (Da Le)
  2. Love Of My Life - (featuring Dave Matthews)
  3. Put Your Lights On - (featuring Everlast)
  4. Africa Bamba
  5. Smooth - (featuring Rob Thomas)
  6. Do You Like The Way - (featuring Lauryn Hill/Cee-Lo)
  7. Maria Maria - (featuring The Product G&B)
  8. Migra
  9. Corazon Espinado - (featuring Mana)
  10. Wishing It Was - (featuring Eagle-Eye Cherry)
  11. El Farol 12. Primavera
  12. Calling, The - (featuring Eric Clapton)

Release Notes

Personnel: Carlos Santana (vocals, guitar, congas, percussion); Everlast (vocals, guitar); Dave Matthews, Rob Thomas, Lauryn Hill, Cee-Lo, The Product G&B, Fher, Eagle Eye Cherry (vocals); Eric Clapton, Francis Dunnery, Al Anderson, Sergio Vallin, JB Eckl (guitar); Danny Wolinski (flute, saxophone); KC Porter (accordion, programming, background vocals); Mic Gillette, Jose Abel Figueroa (trumpet, trombone); Marvin McFadden, Javier Melendez, William Ortiz (trumpet); Jeff Cressman, Steve Turre, Ramon Flores (trombone); Alex Gonzales (drums, background vocals); Billy Johnson, Carter Beauford, Horatio Hernandez, Rodney Holmes, Greg Bissonette, Jimmy Keegan (drums); Karl Perazzo (congas, timbales, percussion, background vocals); Raul Rekow (congas).

Producers include: Carlos Santana, Steve Harris, Wyclef Jean, Jerry "Wonder" Duplessis, KC Porter.

Engineers include: Steve Fontano, Glenn Kolotkin, Mike Couzi.

The Home Source
The home source is your home furniture and decor online resource. Find all of
your home related projects online.

Article Source:

No comments:

Post a Comment